Elizabeth Neuffer Fellowship | Fellowship Application Deadline: May 1, 2015
  • donate now
  • Courage
  • take-action-btn

Women #journalists can't do their jobs without getting hate mail about their looks. ow.ly/KZNrT via @TakePart @jenn_swann #hair

About 5 hours ago from IWMF's Twitter via Hootsuite

  • Levine2-thn Heidi Levine wins Anja Niedringhaus AwardMarch 24, 2015 — The IWMF has named freelance photographer Heidi Levine as the inaugural winner of the Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award. The award was created to honor the courage and dedication of Pulitzer Prize-winning AP photographer Anja Niedringhaus, who was killed while reporting in Afghanistan in 2014. “We are proud to honor …

    Read More
  • 2013Fellows-thnHeidi Levine Heidi Levine is an American freelance photojournalist based in Jerusalem. She has worked as a professional photojournalist since 1983, starting as a staffer with the Associated Press in Israel, then with French photo agency Sipa Press in 1993. Over the course of her photojournalism career, Levine has covered the most critical moments in the Middle East.

    Read More
  • Vlasova-thn Anastasia VlasovaHonorable Mention – 2015 Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award | Anastasia Vlasova is a Ukrainian photojournalist based in Kiev, Ukraine. She is currently covering the different aspects of the conflict in Eastern Ukraine. “Anastasia Vlasova has shown bravery and commitment to show the world community the dire reality of this story which she lives …

    Read More
  • Blackwell-thn Rebecca BlackwellHonorable Mention – 2015 Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award | Rebecca Blackwell is an American photographer currently based in Mexico City with the AP. From 2007 to 2014, Blackwell was the AP’s West Africa photographer and photo editor, covering more than 20 countries in West and Central Africa from her base in Dakar, Senegal. …

    Read More
  • Our Issues: Women’s Leadership If news content is the final outcome of a series of steps involving the participation of a number of individuals, what then is the role of women in determining and shaping the news agenda? Who decides how many stories are by women and feature women as pivotal subjects in news operations? The IWMF provides women journalists the training necessary to become decision-makers within their news organizations.

    Read More
  • About UsThe IWMF believes the news media worldwide are not truly free and representative without the equal voice of women.
    The IWMF celebrates the courage of women journalists who overcome threats and oppression to speak out on global issues.
    The IWMF’s programs empower women journalists with the training, support and network to become leaders in the news industry.

    Read More
  • NourKelze-thn Reporta™: Harnessing Technology To Help Protect Journalists on the GroundMarch 10, 2015 — The International Women’s Media Foundation (IWMF) is in the final stages of developing Reporta™, a mobile security application (also known as an “app”) designed to enhance safety protocols for journalists reporting from potentially hostile environments. The new app was developed in response to the deteriorating security conditions faced by thousands of …

    Read More
Share Button