The fight for media freedom has never been more critical.
For 28 years, the IWMF has been highlighting the courageous work of women journalists and honoring their contributions to press freedom around the world.


Anja Niedringhaus Award


Credit: AP – Gannon (left) and Niedringhaus (right) on the border crossing between Pakistan and Afghanistan, travelling with NATO oil tankers from Quetta in Pakistan to Kandahar.

The Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award was created to honor the life and work of Courage in Journalism honoree and Pulitzer Prize-winning AP photographer Anja Niedringhaus (1965-2014). The Award recognizes the importance of visual journalistic work that inspires us to take action and compels us to better understand the world. Each year, the winner of the Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award is selected by a prestigious jury composed of leaders in the field.

This year, the IWMF and the World Press Photo Foundation (WPPF) will jointly host the Awards in June 2017 in Washington, D.C., as part of an exciting partnership formed to better support female photojournalists around the globe.





Courage in Journalism Award


Credit: Peter Nicholls
Helmand, Afghanistan, 2010 – Janine di Giovanni while embedded with British troops in Sangin Province.

Overcoming threats, oppression, and a stubborn glass ceiling, women journalists worldwide persevere in their pursuit of the truth. The IWMF celebrates their achievements with the Courage in Journalism and Lifetime Achievement awards. The Courage in Journalism Award honors women journalists who demonstrate extraordinary strength of character in pursuing their profession under difficult or dangerous circumstances, such as war and conflict, censorship, and legal threats. The Lifetime Achievement Award honors female journalists who have a pioneering spirit and whose accomplishments have paved the way for future generations of women in the media.

Since 1990, the IWMF has honored more than 100 women journalists from over 50 countries.




Gwen Ifill Award


Gwen Ifill at the Courage in Journalism Awards on October 23, 2013 in New York City

The IWMF has established a new award to honor the memory of Gwen Ifill, the legendary co-anchor of the PBS Newshour, who passed away in November 2016. Ifill was a bright light in the news industry, an incredible role model and mentor for young journalists – especially women journalists of color – and a friend of the IWMF. The Award will be given annually to an outstanding woman journalist of color whose work carries forward Ifill’s legacy.

The 2017 honoree will be announced at the IWMF’s Courage in Journalism Awards ceremony in Washington, DC on October 23, which will be held at the Newseum and hosted by Judy Woodruff.