Bonnie Angelo | 1998 Lifetime Achievement Award

Time Magazine, United States.

Bonnie Angelo covered a wide range of events in all 50 states and more than 60 countries around the world as a correspondent for Time magazine. After 11 years as a Washington correspondent covering politics at the White House, in 1978 she was appointed London bureau chief and thus became the first woman to head a Time bureau overseas. Eight years later, she was named New York bureau chief for Time and later became its first correspondent-at-large. Angelo’s pioneering spirit and determination made her a well-respected journalist and a role model for other women.

Angelo began her career on her hometown paper, the Winston-Salem Journal and Sentinel. She moved to Washington to become a correspondent for Newsday and then a syndicated columnist for Newhouse News Service. In 1966, she joined Time in the Washington bureau. She was a weekly co-host on the Washington television program “Panorama”. In almost eight years in London, she participated frequently on BBC, Independent Television programs and World Service radio. She lectured widely in Europe and Africa on U.S. issues and the American media.

She was president of the Women’s National Press Club and was at the forefront in the battle to end discrimination against women journalists. In London, she was the first woman to head the Association of American Correspondents.

Angelo took leave from her position as contributing correspondent to Time to complete her book First Mothers: The Women Who Shaped the Presidents published in October 2000. She was a member of the IWMF board of directors, and is now on IWMF advisory council.

Bonnie Angelo is the seventh IWMF Lifetime Achievement Award winner from the United States, following Nancy Woodhull (1997), Meg Greenfield (1996), Helen Thomas (1995), Katharine Graham (1994), Nan Robertson (1993) and Barbara Walters (1992). Awardees after Angelo include: Peggy Peterman (1999), Flora Lewis (2000), Colleen “Koky” Dishon (2001), Mary McGrory(2002), Belva Davis (2004), Molly Ivins (2005) and Edith Lederer (2008).


Read also:
Edith Lederer, United States | 2008 Lifetime Achievement Award
Molly Ivins, United States | 2005 Lifetime Achievement Award
Belva Davis, United States | 2004 Lifetime Achievement Award
Mary McGrory, United States | 2002 Lifetime Achievement Award
Colleen “Koky” Dishon, United States | 2001 Lifetime Achievement Award
Flora Lewis, United States | 2000 Lifetime Achievement Award
Peggy Peterman, United States | 1999 Lifetime Achievement Award
Nancy Woodhull, United States | 1997 Lifetime Achievement Award
Meg Greenfield, United States | 1996 Lifetime Achievement Award
Helen Thomas, United States | 1995 Lifetime Achievement Award
Katharine Graham, United States | 1994 Lifetime Achievement Award
Nan Robertson, United States | 1993 Lifetime Achievement Award
Barbara Walters, United States | 1992 Lifetime Achievement Award