Mary McGrory | 2002 Lifetime Achievement Award

journalist and columnist, United States.

A liberal American journalist and columnist, Mary McGrory (1918-2004) was a fierce opponent of the Vietnam War and was on Richard Nixon’s enemies list for writing “daily hate Nixon articles.” During the time she was with The Washington Star, she won the Pulitzer Prize in 1975 for her commentary on Watergate scandal.

McGrory started working for The Washington Post as a book reviewer in 1947, after she spent six years as secretary-assistant to the book reviewer at the Boston Herald. In 1954, Newbold Noyes Jr., then national editor, assigned McGrory to cover the Army-McCarthy hearings, which began her path as a humorous, thought-provoking commentator.

She then began her syndicated column in 1960, and stayed with The Washington Star until 1981, when it went out of business. Later that year, she joined The Washington Post as a columnist. During her half-century long career as a commentator, she shared her insights on some of the most important issues, including the Watergate scandal, death of President John F. Kennedy, Vietnam War and President George W. Bush’s stance on Iraq.

McGrory has a dozen journalism awards and honors throughout her career. She was named the 33rd Elijah Parish Lovejoy Fellow in 1985. She received the Franklin D. Roosevelt Four Freedoms Award for Freedom of Speech in 1995 and the Fourth Estate Award in 1998 from the National Press Club. The Washington Post gave her its highest honor in 2001, the Eugene Meyer Award.

She died in Washington D.C. in 2004, at the age of 85.

Mary McGrory is the 11th IWMF Lifetime Achievement Award winner from the United States, following Colleen “Koky” Dishon (2001), Flora Lewis (2000), Peggy Peterman (1999), Bonnie Angelo (1998), Nancy Woodhull (1997), Meg Greenfield (1996), Helen Thomas (1995), Katharine Graham (1994), Nan Robertson (1993) and Barbara Walters (1992). Belva Davis (2004), Molly Ivins (2005) and Edith Lederer (2008) won the award after McGrory.


Read also:
Edith Lederer, United States | 2008 Lifetime Achievement Award
Molly Ivins, United States | 2005 Lifetime Achievement Award
Belva Davis, United States | 2004 Lifetime Achievement Award
Colleen “Koky” Dishon, United States | 2001 Lifetime Achievement Award
Flora Lewis, United States | 2000 Lifetime Achievement Award
Peggy Peterman, United States | 1999 Lifetime Achievement Award
Bonnie Angelo, United States | 1998 Lifetime Achievement Award
Nancy Woodhull, United States | 1997 Lifetime Achievement Award
Meg Greenfield, United States | 1996 Lifetime Achievement Award
Helen Thomas, United States | 1995 Lifetime Achievement Award
Katharine Graham, United States | 1994 Lifetime Achievement Award
Nan Robertson, United States | 1993 Lifetime Achievement Award
Barbara Walters, United States | 1992 Lifetime Achievement Award

Mary McGrory
Mary McGrory