The IWMF Seeks Nominations for 2017 Courage In Journalism, Lifetime Achievement Awards; Ceremonies to be Held in Washington, D.C., New York, & Los Angeles


WASHINGTON, D.C. – The International Women’s Media Foundation is seeking 2017 nominations for its 28th annual Courage in Journalism and Lifetime Achievement Awards, two prestigious and unique prizes for remarkable female journalists around the world.

The International Women's Media Foundation 2016 Courage in Journalism Awards at the Beverly Wilshire hotel on Thursday, Oct. 20, 2016 in Beverly Hills, Calif. (Photo by Vince Bucci)

2016 Honorees Janine di Giovanni, Stella Paul, Diane Rehm and Mabel Caceres at the Courage in Journalism Awards Ceremony in Los Angeles, October 20, 2016 (Photo by Vince Bucci)

Since 1990, the Courage in Journalism Awards have honored women journalists who demonstrate extraordinary strength of character in pursuing their profession under difficult or dangerous circumstances, such as war and conflict, censorship, and legal threats.

Previous Courage Award winners include Khadija Ismayilova of Azerbaijan, who risked blackmail and imprisonment to cover government corruption; and Adela Navarro Bello of Mexico, who led a team of reporters to expose organized crime in spite of death threats.

For many honorees, such as 2016 Courage Award winner Stella Paul, who works across India to give voice to marginalized people, the Award is a seminal experience in their careers. “I am so grateful to IWMF for giving me this Award and recognizing a frontline that others do not see or recognize,” Paul said in her acceptance remarks, adding, “You have just redefined ‘Courage in Journalism.’”

The Lifetime Achievement Award honors female journalists who have a pioneering spirit and whose accomplishments have paved the way for future generations of women in the media.

Diane Rehm, 2016 winner of the Lifetime Achievement Award and host of “The Diane Rehm Show”, joined past winners including Zubeida Mustafa of Pakistan, who mentored and promoted women as editor of Dawn newspaper; and Kate Adie of the United Kingdom, who covered major world events during more than three decades at the BBC.

The Courage in Journalism and Lifetime Achievement Awards have long been celebrated each October in New York and Los Angeles. In 2017, the IWMF will add a ceremony in Washington, D.C., in partnership with the Newseum. Each event features notable presenters and attendees from the media, entertainment, and corporate spheres.

Courage and Lifetime Achievement award nominations must be submitted by Wednesday, March 15, 2017. Only third-party nominations are accepted.

Candidates may be based in any country and work in any medium, but their primary profession must be journalism. Lifetime Achievement Award candidates can be either working or retired female journalists.

Submit a nomination for the 2017 Courage in Journalism Awards or the Lifetime Achievement Award.

For more information about the IWMF and these awards, please visit


Since 1990, the International Women’s Media Foundation (IWMF) has worked to unleash the potential of women journalists as champions of press freedom to transform the global news media. We seek to ensure that women journalists worldwide are fully supported, protected, recognized and rewarded for their vital contributions at all levels of the news media. As a result, consumers will increase their demand for news with a diversity of voices, stories and perspectives as a cornerstone of democracy and free expression.