2018 Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award

Join the IWMF as we announce the winner of the Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award at the World Press Photo Festival.

Saturday, April 14, 2018

6:00pm | World Press Photo Festival

RSVP to development@iwmf.org as seating is limited.

2018 Anja Outreach Flyer v4

The IWMF’s Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award was created to honor Pulitzer Prize-winning AP photographer and IWMF Courage in Journalism Award winner Anja Niedringhaus (1965-2014). It celebrates women photojournalists whose work inspires us to take action and better understand the world. This courageous reporting manifests in many different forms, and we celebrate visual journalism that inspires us to take action. We believe that courage is reflected in everyday life, beyond the frontlines of conflict, and we seek candidates whose work reflects the values of Anja Niedringhaus through compassion, humanity, and a commitment to capturing the whole picture. In Anja’s words “I do my job simply to report on people’s courage with my camera and my heart.”

“I could have stayed out of trouble most of my life but always have been drawn to the people who suffer in difficult situations. The real difficulties and the real courage belong to those who are subjected against their will to conflicts.” – Anja Niedringhaus

As part of the IWMF’s partnership with World Press Photo Foundation, the 2018 Award winner will be announced publicly and have her work showcased at the World Press Photo Festival on April 14, 2018 at 6pm.

Interested in attending the Award Ceremony? Please RSVP to development@iwmf.org.

Past award winners include Heidi Levine, Adriane Ohanesian, and Stephanie Sinclair.

The 2018 Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award is make possible by:

With support from:

Drukwerk GermanEmbassyLogo
  • Award JuryStephanie SinclairThe IWMF works with a respected jury of professional photojournalists, editors and human rights advocates to determine the winner of each year’s Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Awards.

    Read More

  • Advisory CommitteeGannon01 The jury of the Anja Niedringhaus Award is supported by an Advisory Committee consisting of members of the Niedringhaus family and close friends of Anja. This committee includes Heide-Ute Niedringhaus-Schulz, Elke Niedringhaus-Haasper, Kathy Gannon, Jutta Steinhoff, Michelle Blythe, and Muhammed Muheisen.

    Read More