Outstanding Female Journalists Honored At 2018 Courage in Journalism Awards

Originally Published: Look to the Stars

The International Women’s Media Foundation (IWMF) last week honored several outstanding female journalists at the 2018 Courage in Journalism Awards luncheon at Cipriani 42nd Street.

This year’s honorees included news agency JINHA founder, Zehra Doğan, U.S. freelance photojournalist, Meridith Kohut, undercover CNN International correspondent, Nima Elbagir, and organized crime reporter and ZETA editor-in-chief, Rosario Mosso Castro. “60 Minutes’” Lesley Stahl also received the 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award. Additionally, MSNBC President, Phil Griffin was recognized with the IWMF Leadership Award along with Bloomberg News’ Senior Editor, Karen Toulon who was honored with the Gwen Ifill Award.

The honorees were selected for exhibiting extraordinary bravery and courage as they reported from areas of instability, oppression and conflict. Since its inception in 1990, the IWMF has honored more than 100 female journalists from 55 countries. The Courage in Journalism Awards show people that female journalists are not going to step aside, cannot be silenced, and deserve to be recognized for their strength in the face of adversity. It honors the brave journalists who report on taboo topics, work in environments hostile to women, and share difficult truths.

Norah O’Donnell of CBS News and Cynthia McFadden of NBC News co-hosted the program for the third year in a row.

“I really hope this award sends a message to any other women out there, who are struggling. That we do belong back at the frontlines. That we get to decide where we belong. Because right now we can’t afford to lose any women’s voices” said CNNInternational correspondent, Nima Elbagir.

Presenters included Andrea B. Smith, Christy Turlington, Elisa Lees Muñoz, Hugh Hildesley, and David Rhodes. Additional attendees included Tom Brokaw, Jeff Zucker, Anne Finucane, Merrill Brown, Lynn Povich, Joy Reid, Stephanie Ruhle, Ann Thompson, Andrea Mitchell, Kate Snow, Savannah Sellers and many more.

The 2018 award winners also are being recognized in Washington, DC on Thursday, November 1, 2018 in a dinner ceremony hosted by Judy Woodruff (PBS NewsHour) and Suzanne Malveaux (CNN).