Washington Post women journalists win 2023 IWMF Courage in Journalism Award

Originally published: Capitol Communicator

A team of women journalists from The Washington Post who reported from Ukraine in 2022 have been honored by the International Women’s Media Foundation with the 2023 Courage in Journalism Award, reports The Post. This annual award recognizes women in journalism who work under duress to bring truth to light.

The Post honorees include four journalists who are now based full-time in Kyiv: bureau chief Isabelle Khurshudyan; Siobhan O’Grady, who reported from Ukraine as Cairo bureau chief and is now the new chief Ukraine correspondent; and contributors Anastacia Galouchka and Kamila Hrabchuk. The other honorees were part of teams that rotated through Ukraine in 2022: video journalists Whitney Shefte and Whitney Leaming; contributing photojournalist Heidi Levine; Baghdad bureau chief Louisa Loveluck; national security reporter Missy Ryan; Bogotá bureau chief Samantha Schmidt; Berlin bureau chief Loveday Morris; contributing photographer Kasia Strek; political video reporter Joyce Koh; and international reporter Miriam Berger.

The IWMF states: “When the full-scale invasion began, Post journalists were in Kyiv as it came under Russian fire. In Kharkiv, Khurshudyan and Leaming were two of the last Western media reporters to leave the city as it came under heavy bombardment. O’Grady and Galouchka came under targeted artillery shelling twice while reporting on artillery combat in the Donetsk region. Shefte, who helped detail the story of women giving birth in underground bunkers, embedded with a military unit near Mariupol that had been fighting Russian-backed separatists since 2014.”

The 2023 IWMF Courage in Journalism Award winners will be recognized during private ceremonies in Washington, New York and Los Angeles in the fall.

More here.