2016 Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award

2016 hosts
PC: Tony Powell

Step and Repeat
PC: Pepe Gomez

Award Ceremony
PC: Pepe Gomez

PC: Pepe Gomez


  • Adriane Ohanesian, Winner
    “At times the journalist’s reflection of war is most telling. Courage is not only standing amid gunfire in battle, but possessing the emotional courage it takes to immerse your own heart in bearing witness to the anguish of those most vulnerable in any conflict, and portraying them with honestly and dignity.
    We loved reflecting upon her work. Adriane approaches storytelling with remarkable skill and an ability to capture the emotional resonance of difficult moments.”–Award Jury
    Read More

  • Lynsey Addario, Honorable Mention
    “For the past fifteen years, Lynsey has been on the front lines of almost every major conflict of her generation. She has been kidnapped twice while on assignment for The New York Times and has been beaten, groped, and threatened with execution. She has covered most major conflicts of her generation with empathy and deep compassion for the most defenseless, who exist in the grip of war.”–Award Jury

    Read More

  • Paula Bronstein, Honorable Mention
    “Paula has worked across Asia, Africa, and the Middle East, documenting crises and seismic shifts in international events. Her long and successful career are indicative of her work ethic and commitment. As a seasoned photojournalist with unending drive and dedication to tell the stories of those in the grasp of tragedy and war, her work is recognized for its commanding impact.” –Award Jury

    Read More

Award JuryGuzy-THN
The Award jury choses the winner of the Anja Niedringhaus Award. The inaugural jury included Corinne Dufka (Human Rights Watch, 1997 IWMF Courage Award), Carol Guzy (photographer), Santiago Lyon (Associated Press), Michele McNally (New York Times), Bryan Monroe (IWMF Board of Directors), and Kira Pollack (TIME).

Read More

Buffett Foundation


Thank you to our 2016 Patron sponsor:




Thank you to our 2016 sponsors:


Allianz logo PMS 287_vector_for print 

DeutscheTelekom LOGO

 TMobile LOGO




Thank you to our 2016 partners:


German Embassy LOGO
WL logo