2014 Courage in Journalism Awards


In 2014, the Courage in Journalism Award celebrates its 25th anniversary. 100 extraordinary women journalists have been honored with IWMF Courage in Journalism and Lifetime Achievement Awards since their inception in 1990. The 2014 Award ceremonies were held in New York on October 22, and in Los Angeles on October 28.

Follow the 2014 Courage in Journalism Awards on social media via #IWMFCourage.

  • StankovicAwardeesWith the 2014 Courage in Journalism Awards, we honor CNN war correspondent Arwa Damon (USA), editor-in-chief of Le Souverain, Solange Lusiku Nsimire (Democratic Republic of the Congo), and TV Reporter Brankica Stanković (Serbia). Alexandra Trower, Executive Vice President, Global Communications, at The Estée Lauder Companies has been named the 2014 IWMF Leadership Honoree, for demonstrating an outstanding commitment to responsible and innovative leadership.

    Read More

  • Events-thnAward CeremoniesThe Courage in Journalism Award events in New York and Los Angeles bring together leading American media personalities to celebrate the courage of women in journalism worldwide, highlighting the value of press freedom and gender equality.

    The 2014 East Coast ceremony was held in New York on October 22.
    The 2014 West Coast ceremony was held in Los Angeles on October 28.

    Learn More

  • newspaper-thnCourage Press KitThe 2014 Courage in Journalism Awardees tell inspiring stories of blowing against the wind, daring to report the truth, and continuing to do so in the face of government oppression, threats to personal safety and other intimidating obstacles.
    The Press Kit offers resources for journalists covering the 2014 Courage in Journalism Awards, including press releases, photos and bios, as well as contact information for interview requests and other media inquiries.

    Press Kit

  • hands-thnCourage Awardees 1990-2014With its Courage in Journalism and Lifetime Achievement Awards, the IWMF pays tribute to women journalists from around the world. Each Awardee is a woman who has risked her life or safety to report the news.
    Meet the 100 women who have been honored for their courageous reporting since the Awards’ inception in 1990.

    Read More

  • 2014 Awards25th Courage Awards | Live Stream
    For the first time ever, the Courage in Journalism Awards ceremony in New York was live streamed – right here on the IWMF website. The live stream is now available on demand from anywhere in the world: watch the inspiring and moving ceremony honoring Serbian investigative journalist Brankica Stankovic, Congolese editor in chief Solange Lusiku Nsimire, and CNN Correspondent Arwa Damon.

    Read More

  • The Official 2014 Courage Awards Video

    In October 2014, the IWMF celebrated the 25th anniversary of its Courage in Journalism Awards, honoring women journalists who set themselves apart by their extraordinary bravery.


Share Button