Washington, DC | Los Angeles, CA | New York, NY

2023 Courage in Journalism Awards

Since 1990, the International Women’s Media Foundation’s Courage in Journalism Awards have recognized remarkable women and nonbinary journalists who persist to report despite incredible odds.

The 2023 awards take place as oppression of a free press, gender-based attacks and distrust of the media remain at alarming heights. This year’s awardees brought truth to light amid war, censorship and authoritarian regime.

Wallis Annenberg Justice for Women Journalists Award

Yalda MoaieryIranian journalist Yalda Moaiery was arrested on September 19, 2022, by Iran’s state security forces while documenting anti-hijab and anti-government protests prompted by the death of Mahsa Amini. She was beaten during her arrest and has been sentenced to seven years in prison and is banned from living and working in her home city of Tehran. Moaiery is currently out on bail and awaiting an appeal hearing.

Learn more about Yalda here.

Awards Leadership

Leadership Honoree: Judy Woodruff

IWMF co-founder and esteemed broadcast journalist Judy Woodruff is this year’s IWMF Courage in Journalism Leadership Honoree. In addition to her role as a pioneer of the IWMF, Woodruff will be recognized for her contributions to gender equity in journalism, press freedom and impartial, award-winning news making.

Event Chair: Anne Finucane

Former Vice Chairman of Bank of America Anne Finucane is this year’s IWMF Courage in Journalism Event Chair. In addition to overseeing the strategic direction of the bank, Finucane is recognized for her position on the cutting edge of corporate and social responsibility initiatives advancing racial equity, opportunity and climate action.

Donate to Journalists in Crisis

Support the IWMF’s Emergency Fund, a lifeline for women and nonbinary journalists in crisis. Last year we supported nearly 1,000 journalists, and the need continues to grow. Your donation makes a difference.

Thank you to our sponsors!

Thank you to our sponsors!

Thank you to our sponsors!

National Presenting Sponsor

Investigative Sponsors

Activision Blizzard The Annenberg Foundation Bloomberg

Opinion Sponsors

Willow Bay Amanda Bennett CBS News Suzanne Malveaux Katie McGrath & J.J. Abrams Family Foundation

Press Freedom Sponsors

Joaquin and Ellen Alemany Bradley Media Foundation Ted Boutrous The California Wellness Foundation in honor of Alicia Shepard CNN The Emerson Collective Cheryl Fair Anne Finucane Freedom Forum Hearst Linda Henry and Boston Globe Media Dina Powell McCormick Gelila Assefa Puck Patricia Stonesifer NBC Universal The Washington Post Judy Woodruff

Metro Sponsors

Judy & John Arnhold The Associated Press Barbara Cochran Linda Douglass Emerson Collective Forbes Hearst Frank Islam Kristine Coratti Kelly Susan King The Lambert Family Maureen Orth Lynn Povich Jennifer L. Reingold Wyndham Roberston Roz & Bud Siegel Carolan Stiles United Talent Agency URL Media David and Sherrie Westin The Wrap The Zients Family Foundation

IWMF Contributors

Rebecca Abou-Chedid Vickee Jordan Adams Hannah Allam Rita Braver Lisa Caputo Eleanor Clift Geoff Cowan & Aileen Adams Lucy Dalglish Charmaine DeGraté Jennie L. & Richard K. DeScherer Cipa & Misha Dichter Caroline Donahue Leila Fadel Weingart Foundation Sandra Frazier Frontline produced by GBH in Boston Jamie Gorelick Denise Grant Gail Gregg Laura Handman - Davis Wright Tremaine Carolyn Hoffman Natalie Hopkinson Miss Janna Hedlund Swanee Hunt Robert Irby III Stephanie Kauffman Debby Landesman Dianne Lee Cindi Leive Michel Martin Linda Mason Kevin Merida Catherine Merrill Andrea Mitchell Jonathan Orszag Marnie Owens Liz Perkins Night News Editor Daily Express Shaun Robinson, Journalist, Author, Producer Ambassador Nancy Rubin Nathalie Rubens Andrew M. Saul, II Linda Schacht Melanie Shorin Jennifer Siebens Travelers Ann Walker Marchant Maureen White Elizabeth Rieger Wiatt Greta Williams Lauren Williams Jill Zuckman/SKDK