2017 Opportunities with the IWMF

The media is not truly free and representative without the equal voice of women. Through our programs and grants we empower women journalists with the training, opportunities, and support to become leaders in the news industry. The IWMF offers women journalists a wide range of opportunities to grow as media professionals, gain reporting experience, publish projects, and be recognized for remarkable work. Please find all of our upcoming opportunities listed below. Note: All travel dates are subject to change.

Adelante Reporting Initiative


IMG_0299Through this new reporting initiative, the IWMF seeks to reshape traditional media narratives and increase reporting by and about women in Latin America. Over the next five years, the Adelante initiative will provide unique opportunities for 270 women journalists including year-long, in-country fellowships and international reporting trips in Colombia, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico and the Mexico-United States border. Reporting fellows will produce in-depth stories on themes including democracy and governance, immigration, agricultural development, economic opportunity, expanded technology access, women’s rights and development, education, and conservation. Check out FAQs here. Encuentre información adicional en español aquí y respuestas a preguntas frecuentes sobre el programa aquí.

Call for Applications: Mexico and Honduras Reporting Fellowships

Deadline: April 18, 2017


Africa Great Lakes Reporting Initiative


Nina Strochlic at the National Archives of South Sudan.

Nina Strochlic at the National Archives of South Sudan.

The IWMF designed the African Great Lakes Reporting Initiative to support journalists committed to pursuing stories that go beyond the well-established path of political instability, armed conflicts, and humanitarian crisis in the region. Between 2015-2018, the IWMF will continue to lead groups of women journalists to the Central African Republic (CAR), the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC), Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda, and provide training and support for in-country journalists. These efforts include essential security training to help journalists stay safe in the field.

Applications closed


Elizabeth Neuffer Fellowship


The IWMF’s Elizabeth Neuffer fellowship provides a unique academic and professional opportunity for women journalists focusing on human rights and social justice reporting. Created in honor of Elizabeth Neuffer, The Boston Globe correspondent and 1998 IWMF Courage in Journalism Award winner. Neuffer died while reporting in Iraq in 2003. The eight-month fellowship combines research at MIT with journalism internships at The Boston Globe and The New York Times.

Apply for the 2017 Neuffer Fellowship

Deadline: April 11, 2017


Fund for Women Journalists


The Howard G. Buffett Fund for Women Journalists enables the IWMF to dramatically expand its support of women journalists. Promoting the work and advancing the role of women in the news media across the globe is critical to transparency and the diversity of voices. The Fund will award $2.3 million to women journalists over the next ten years and will support projects including educational opportunities, investigative reporting and media development initiatives.

Next round of applications will open in May 2017


Reporting Grants for Women’s Stories


PC Alberto Elenes

PC Alberto Elenes

The IWMF’s Reporting Grants for Women’s Stories, sponsored by The Secular Society, is a funding initiative supporting journalism produced by and about women. In an era of increased globalization, the need for varied coverage of gendered topics is critical to a free and representative press. These grants will be a catalyst for reporting on untold stories surrounding issues that impact women and girls’ daily lives worldwide.

Application for 2017, Round 1 funding will open in April 2017


Anja Niedringhaus Award


The Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award was created to honor the life and work of Courage in Journalism honoree and Pulitzer Prize-winning AP photographer Anja Niedringhaus (1965-2014). The Award celebrates the courage of women photojournalists who capture conflict and crisis while sharing moments of humanity.

Nominations CLOSED 


Courage in Journalism Awards


Credit: Peter Nicholls Helmand, Afghanistan, 2010 – Janine di Giovanni while embedded with British troops in Sangin Province.

Credit: Peter Nicholls
Helmand, Afghanistan, 2010 – Janine di Giovanni while embedded with British troops in Sangin Province.

The Courage in Journalism Award has honored women journalists who set themselves apart by their extraordinary bravery and the Lifetime Achievement Award is given in recognition of media industry pioneers who kick down barriers to equality and justice. Since 1990, the IWMF has honored more than 100 women journalists from over 50 countries.

Help us continue to honor the brave work of women journalists around the world by nominating a journalist today.

Nominations Closed


IWMF accepts rolling applications for

Emergency Fund for Journalists in Crisis The IWMF Emergency Fund for Journalists in Crisis has distributed nearly $75,000 to women who risk their safety, welfare, and freedom to report the news. The IWMF Emergency Fund is sustained with the support of individual supporters.

Share Button