Courage in Journalism Award


Overcoming threats, oppression, and a stubborn glass ceiling, women journalists worldwide persevere in their pursuit of the truth. The IWMF celebrates their achievements with the Courage in Journalism and Lifetime Achievement awards. Reporting from areas of instability, oppression, and conflict, Courage in Journalism Awardees put themselves at risk to give us a window into critical global issues. Lifetime Achievement Honorees set new standards for women journalists and encourage future generations of reporters to find their voice.

More than 100 journalists from 50 countries have been honored with the IWMF Courage in Journalism and Lifetime Achievement awards. Our 2016 winners will be announced in May and celebrated at ceremonies in Los Angeles on October 20 and New York on October 26.

Follow the 2016 Courage in Journalism Awards on social media via #IWMFCourage


“My sister honorees have put their lives on the line in the pursuit of truth, justice, and human rights. I am honored to share with them a noble profession that shines light in the world’s darkest places.”

– Linda Deutsch, Retired Associated Press Special Correspondent, 2015 Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient

  • 2016 Awards & Ceremonies

    courage winners

    Photo Credit: Peter Nicholls

    Bringing together leading personalities in media to celebrate the courage of women in journalism worldwide, the 2016 IWMF Courage in Journalism Award ceremonies will honor awardees Mabel Caceres, Janine di Giovanni, Stella Paul, and Lifetime Achievement winner Diane Rehm and will be held in Los Angeles on October 20 and New York on October 26. Media passes to cover the event will be available in October. To purchase tickets, please click on the link below.

    Read More

  • Past Award Winners

    courage winners

    Since their inception, the Courage in Journalism and Lifetime Achievement Awards have honored more than 100 women journalists who have demonstrated extraordinary strength of character in pursuing their profession under difficult or dangerous circumstances, such as government oppression, threats to personal safety and other intimidating obstacles.

    Read More

  • Nominate a JournalistNominate a Journalist
    The Courage in Journalism Awards honor women journalists who set themselves apart by their extraordinary bravery. Facing and surviving danger to uncover the truth, they raise the bar for reporting under duress.
    Candidates for the Courage in Journalism Awards can be full-time or freelance women reporters, writers, editors, photographers or producers working in any country.

    Read More

  • Nominate a JournalistAwardee Updates
    The IWMF Courage in Journalism Awardees work in countries where threats, intimidation, political repression and imprisonment are realities for journalists engaged in reporting the truth. The Award provides these extraordinary women with increased visibility and a mantle of safety to continue their vital work. These are the stories of their challenges and successes after winning. Read More
Share Button